Duleep Trophy 2022 Quarter-finals: Ajinkya Rahane, Yashasvi Jaiswal slam double tons of as West Zone finish Day 2 on 590 for two

Skipper Ajinkya Rahane and Yashasvi Jaiswal smashed double tons of as West Zone reached 590 for two of their first innings in opposition to North East Zone at stumps on Day 2 of the Duleep Trophy 2022 1st quarter-final on Friday (September 9).

Jaiswal scored 228 off 321 balls, whereas Rahane returned unbeaten on 207 from 264 deliveries as West Zone continued their domination of proceedings on the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

Rahane, who’s making a comeback from damage, added a mammoth 333 runs for the second wicket with Jaiswal. Whereas the previous struck 18 fours and 6 sixes in his brisk innings, the latter hit 22 fours and three sixes in his knock. The marathon stand ended when Jaiswal was caught off Rongsen Jonathan’s bowling. At stumps, Rahul Tripathi (25*) was giving Rahane firm.

Earlier, opener Prithvi Shaw additionally hit 100 as West Zone punished North East Zone bowlers. Resuming the day at 116 for no loss, Shaw and Yashasvi took the crew’s rating previous 200 with ease. The partnership was damaged on the rating of 206 when Shaw fell to Ankur Malik for 113 off 121 balls. His knock included 11 fours and 5 sixes.

Virat Singh hits ton as East Zone submit 397 in 2nd quarter-final of Duleep Trophy 2022

Within the 2nd quarter-final of Duleep Trophy 2022 on the Cricket Affiliation Puducherry Floor 2 in Puducherry, East Zone put up 397 of their first innings.

Virat Singh top-scored with 117 off 247 balls, whereas Shahbaz Ahmed contributed a helpful 62 off 140 balls. In response, North Zone ended Day 2 on 65 for no loss in 13 overs. Yash Dhull was batting on 35* and Manan Vohra on 20*.

Earlier, East Zone resumed their innings on 179 for 3. Virat, who was batting on 43 in a single day, carried on to finish a powerful century. His knock, which featured 12 fours and a six, ended when he was caught off Pulkit Narang’s bowling.

East Zone captain Manoj Tiwary, who resumed his innings on 9, was dismissed for 27. Manisankar Murasingh additionally contributed a swift 32 to push the crew’s whole previous the 350-mark. For North Zone, Navdeep Saini and Nishant Sindhu claimed three wickets every within the quarter-final conflict of Duleep Trophy 2022.

Edited by Renin Wilben Albert

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Comment